Tag Archive for: BhagavanSriKrishna

Mahanidhi Swami

By quoting mostly Srimad Bhagavatam, Sri Jiva Goswamipada wrote six essential books known as the Sandarbhas, which everyone must study and know to attain success in bhakti sadhana.

As philosophical treatises, the Sandarbhas prove the unique position of Bhagavan Sri Krishna and the eternal basis of Krishna consciousness; the eternal relationship between Bhagavan and the jivatma; exact details on how to practice bhakti bhajana to attain bhava; a complete explanation of Krishna prema; how to attain it; and the experience of the premi bhakta at the final sadhaka stage of spiritual perfection—priti.

Sri Jiva Goswamipada is blessed with incredible intelligence and the association of the wisest preceptors of Vaisnava siddhanta. By humbly serving Sri Rupa and Sanatana Goswamis, Sri Jiva realized the essence of Radha-Krishna’s Vraja madhurya-rasa.

Summary of the Sandarbhas

  1. Tattva Sandarbha

Describes ways to attain knowledge i.e. direct perception (pratyaksha), inference (anumana). But of all forms of gaining knowledge, the best way is to aurally receive transcendental sound manifesting from a divine liberated source (shabdha brahman). This knowledge is supreme, infallible and universally applicable at all times. Such wisdom includes the Vedas, Upanisads, Itihasa and the Puranas—crystalized in the topmost, sweet perfection as the Bhagavat Purana or Srimad Bhagavatam.

  1. Bhagavata Sandarbha

This book describes the Bhagavat or Para-brahma, His three main saktis—antaranga (includes samvit, sandhini and hladini saktis); bahiranga “material energy”; and the jiva or tatastha sakti. The essence of hladini is the divinely sweet form of Srimati Radharani, the eternal, counter whole, and divine consort of Bhagavan Sri Krishna. Bhagavan has innumerable forms and manifests in infinite ways to His devotees according to their bhajana perfection. But for yogis and jnanis, Bhagavan simply manifests as either Brahman or Paramatma.

  1. Paramatma-Sandarbha

This book deals with the concept of Paramatma, the three forms of Sri Vishnu, the jivas, living entities, and   manifestation of the material world “creation”.

  1. Sri Krishna Sandarbha

This book proves that Krishna is Bhagavan Himself and not an incarnation of Bhagavan who are but His partial manifestations. The details of the transcendental holy dhama, eternal associates and divine lilas are all described.

  1. Bhakti-Sandarbha

This book describes different kinds and levels of bhakti and how to perform proper, pure and offense less bhakti bhajana to attain Krishna prema.

  1. Priti-Sandarbha

This book establishes that love divine, priti or Krishna prema-bhakti is the highest goal of self-realization and not moksha which most believe.

In summary, the Veda says, yasmin vijnate sarvam evam vijnatam bhavati, “If one knows the Absolute Truth, then one knows everything!” (Mundaka Up. 1.3) Thus by studying the Sandarbhas, one will clearly and convincingly understand the basis, principles, practice and goal of Krishna consciousness and bhakti bhajana. These most uplifting and inspirational teachings are the direct mercy of Mahaprabhu, the Six Goswamis, and especially Sri Jiva Goswamipada.

So don’t miss this ocean of mercy! Dive in and dive deeply to become drenched in bliss and radiant with wisdom. Attentively study, then hear audio or live classes by enlightened ones. And if possible, the absolute best way to learn transcendence is to hear directly from a Guru in whom your heart and mind are faithfully sheltered.

Sat Sandarbhas ki jai! Jai Jai Sri Radhe!